SNAP

SNAP which stands for the Survivors Network of those Abused by Priests, US Catholic group,  is reporting that an accounting day is actually today, for the Roman Catholic Church. In an email, Barbara Blaine of SNAP states that:
“ January 16th, the Vatican will be questioned about its record on child sexual violence by an international body.”

She says that “SNAP and our attorneys from CCR will be there.” It can be watched live: Watch the UN review via livestream here!
The times will be:

The Vatican will be reviewed on their compliance with the Convention on Rights of the Child:
4am- 7am EST, 3am- 6am CST, 2am- 5am MST, 1am- 4am PST. The broadcast in Europe will occur from 10 am to 1 pm CET.
The Vatican will be reviewed on their compliance with the Optional Protocols on the Sale of Children, Child Prostitution and Child Pornography: 9am – noon EST, 8am- 11am CST, 7am- 10am MST, 6am- 9am PST. The broadcast in Europe will occur from 3 pm to 6 pm CET. These broadcasts will be in the English.

Ms. Blaine also reports,”Two hours later (2pm EST, 1 pm CST, 12am MST, 11am PST ) we will have the “reportback” by CCR and SNAP. In Europe at 8 pm CET Tune in here”
Blaine further states, “You can  follow the conversation on Twitter and ask questions before or during the livestream by tweeting to the hashtag #HolySeeConfess or by emailing questions to askCCR@ccrjustice.org.

SNAP and CCR submitted reports to the Committee on the Rights of the Child detailing how the Holy See has violated the core principles of the Convention on the Rights of the Child.”
It all sounds quite interesting and there must be some gnashing of teeth amongst the Vatican hierarchy but this is what happens when pedophile priest are protected and allowed to continue to victimize children. Good for SNAP for really caring about children and for working to hold the Vatican accountable.

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *